1. Education
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

International Woman Suffrage Timeline - 2

Winning the Vote for Women Around the World 1930 - 1959


World Woman Suffrage Map 1908

Progress of states and nations with woman suffrage

Courtesy Library of Congress. Original published in Harper's Magazine, April 25, 1908.

through 1929 | 1930 - 1959 | 1960 and later


1930: White women granted suffrage in South Africa.

1930: Turkey grants women the vote.

1931: Women get full suffrage in Spain and Sri Lanka.

1931: Chile and Portugal grant suffrage with some restrictions.

1932: Uruguay, Thailand and Maldives jump on the woman suffrage bandwagon.

1934: Cuba and Brazil adopt woman suffrage.

1934: Turkish women are able to stand for election.

1934: Portugal grants woman suffrage, with some restrictions.

1935: Women gain right to vote in Myanmar.

1937: The Philippines grants women full suffrage.

1938: Women get the vote in Bolivia.

1938: Uzbekistan grants full suffrage to women.

1939: El Salvador grants voting rights to women.


1940: Women of Quebec are granted voting rights.

1941: Panama grants limited voting rights to women.

1942: Women gain full suffrage in the Dominican Republic.

1944: Bulgaria, France and Jamaica grant suffrage to women.

1945: Croatia, Indonesia, Italy, Hungary, Japan (with restrictions), Yugoslavia, Senegal and Ireland enact woman suffrage.

1945: Guyana allows women to stand for election.

1946: Woman suffrage adopted in Palestine, Kenya, Liberia, Cameroon, Korea, Guatemala, Panama (with restrictions), Romania (with restrictions), Venezuela, Yugoslavia and Vietnam.

1946: Women allowed to stand for election in Myanmar.

1947: Bulgaria, Malta, Nepal, Pakistan, Singapore and Argentina extend suffrage to women.

1947: Japan extends suffrage, but still retains some restrictions.

1947: Mexico grants the vote to women at the municipal level.

1948: Israel, Iraq, Korea, Niger and Surinam adopt woman suffrage.

1948: Belgium, which previously granted the vote to women, establishes suffrage with a few restrictions for women.

1949: Bosnia and Herzegovina grant woman suffrage.

1949: China and Costa Rica give women the vote.

1949: Women gain full suffrage in Chile but most vote separately from men.

1949: Syrian Arab Republic gives the vote to women.

1949/1950: India grants woman suffrage.


1950: Haiti and Barbados adopt woman suffrage.

1950: Canada grants full suffrage, extending the vote to some women (and men) previously not included, still excluding Native women.

1951: Antigua, Nepal and Grenada give women the vote.

1952: Covenant on Political Rights of Women enacted by the United Nations, calling for women's right to vote and right to stand for elections. (more)

1952: Greece, Lebanon and Bolivia (with restrictions) extend suffrage to women.

1953: Mexico grants women the right to stand for election. and to vote in national elections.

1953: Hungary and Guyana give voting rights to women.

1953: Bhutan and the Syrian Arab Republic establish full woman suffrage.

1954: Ghana, Colombia and Belize grant woman suffrage.

1955: Cambodia, Ethiopia, Peru, Honduras and Nicaragua adopt woman suffrage.

1956: Women given suffrage in Egypt, Somalia, Comoros, Mauritius, Mali and Benin.

1956: Pakistani women gain right to vote in national elections.

1957: Malaysia extends suffrage to women.

1957: Zimbabwe grants women the vote.

1959: Madagascar and Tanzania give suffrage to women.

1959: San Marino permits women to vote.

  1. About.com
  2. Education
  3. Women's History
  4. Feminism, Women's Suffrage, Women's Rights
  5. Suffrage & Voting
  6. International Woman Suffrage Timeline

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.