1. Education
Send to a Friend via Email

Nobel Laureates - Medicine, Physiology

Women who have won the Nobel Prize in Medicine and Physiology.
  1. Women Physicians
  2. Women in Medicine
  3. Nobel Laureates

1947: Gerty Theresa Cori
An American, honored with her husband for their study of the catalytic conversion of glycerin.

1977: Rosalyn Sussman Yalow
American honored for her work with radioimmunoassay in investigative medicine.

1983: Barbara McClintock
Honored for her work in genetics.

1986: Rita Levi-Montalcini
With Stanley Cohen, honored for work on cell growth.

1988: Gertrude B. Elion
Honored with two others for their work in drug treatment.

1995: Christiane Nüsslein-Volhard
Honored for work on genetics in early embryo development.

2009: Elizabeth H. Blackburn & Carol W. Greider
Elizabeth Blackburn and Carol Greider shared the 2009 prize with Jack W. Szostak for a chromosome-related discovery.

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.