1. Education
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Louisa May Alcott Books - Little Women and Beyond

The Major Works of Author Louisa May Alcott


Illustrated portrait of American author Louisa May Alcott (1832 - 1888), mid to late 19th century.
Stock Montage/Archive Photos/Getty Images

Little Women and its sequels, forming a trilogy by Louisa May Alcott:

  • Little Women - coming-of-age story set during and after the Civil War in Massachusetts, featuring the four daughters of the March family. The book as its currently published was originally two volumes: the first, Little Women or, Meg, Jo, Beth and Amy, and the second, Good Wives.
  • Little Men: Life at Plumfield with Jo's Boys - The school established by Jo and Professor Bhaer, and the boys who attend. Characters from Little Women appear again, as do some new characters who are students at the boys' school.
  • Jo's Boys and How They Turned Out - Alcott finishes with the March family's story by completing the stories of the women and men she introduced in Little Men. There are main female characters besides Jo, including two (Nan Harding and Josie Brooke) who succeed in careers.
  • In addition, Louisa May Alcott published six collections of stories all titled Aunt Jo's Scrap-Bag.

The "Little Women Series" by Louisa May Alcott included the following which are not about the March family:

  • Eight Cousins
  • Rose in Bloom, A Sequel to Eight Cousins

More by Louisa May Alcott:

Flower Fables - first book published by Louisa May Alcott, consisting of fairy tales.

Hospital Sketches - Louisa May Alcott's nonfiction account of her brief service as a nurse in the Civil War.

Moods - a Louisa May Alcott novel about marriage, goodness, nature and books. The revision diminished the emphasis on her views of marriage.

An Old-Fashioned Girl - a novel for young adults, similar in style to Little Women but not part of the March family story.

Work: A Story of Experience - an autobiographical novel.

A Modern Mephistopheles - originally published anonymously

Two more written for young adults:

    • Under the Lilacs
    • Jack and Jill: A Village Story

Louisa May Alcott also published sensational stories under the pen name of A. M. Barnard.

  1. About.com
  2. Education
  3. Women's History
  4. Women Writers, Artists, Musicians, Media
  5. Writers
  6. Women Writers 1801-1900
  7. Louisa May Alcott
  8. Louisa May Alcott Books - Little Women and Beyond

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.